Skip to content

April 9, 2009 ~ Surprised With Joy!

April 9, 2009

flowers-from-conya-040809-resized

Yesterday’s chemo treatment at MD Anderson was an all-day siege.  I got there at 10:30 in the morning and didn’t get home until almost 6:00.  They had a tough time finding a vein again, which is becoming an every-time problem so I will likely have to give in and get a port of some kind.  But . . .

. . . even though it was a long, long, loooooooong day, there were great highlights that elevated it and saved it because of joy.  First of all, while I waited to have blood work done, the loveliest piano music began to fill the air.  Volunteer musicians often play their instruments in the lobby area and it adds such a beautiful meditative element to treatment days.  Well, the music selected by the volunteer pianist couldn’t have been more special to me, because both selections were also handpicked by me as favorites years ago to be featured at John and my wedding.  The first one was Beethoven’s “Ode To Joy,” and the second was Bach’s “Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring.”  Funny how I hadn’t really thought about our wedding day in a long while, and with the first few notes ringing through the air – even in  such an inhospitable place – I was transported back 28-1/2 years to the beginning of our life as husband and wife.  It was – well, joyful.

Music is one of those transporting elements of life.  Like a familiar fragrance that can send you right back to your childhood kitchen, music can send also us right back in history to the time when we first shared a favorite song with someone special.  It transports and elevates because it triggers sweet memories where it took an important role.  Hearing that music, remembering that time, took me out of my own tough circumstance and moved me back in time to when I was a young bride in white.

On the way home from chemo, I called a new friend who talked me all the way home.  We laughed and shared, and it was the most perfect way to drive that long drive after a hard day.  During that conversation, the hard day disappeared behind me, and the joy of friendly conversation took its place.  What a great trade!

But there was still another surprise of joy to come!  When I drove into the driveway, I noticed that a note had been left on our front door.  When I gathered it, I saw that it was from a local flower shop and it said that they had tried to deliver some flowers while I was away, and they left the delivery with a neighbor.  Of course, I imagined those flowers were from John, although there was no particularly special occasion that I could recall.  So when he called moments later to say that he was almost home, I asked him if he had sent flowers.  No, he hadn’t.   Who could have sent them?  I tried to imagine who might be sending flowers, but couldn’t imagine who it was.  When John came home, he stopped by the neighbor’s house to retrieve the beautiful bouquet.  What a surprise!!!  The beautiful arrangement (see the photo) was from a sweet friend who knows our battle all-too-well, having been through the same in her own family.  What joy, to have friends who care and understand!

So today was tough.  Sure enough.  BUT . . . All day I was surrounded by joy.  Joy in music.  Joy in memories.  Joy in conversation.  Joy in friendship. 

What a great day I had! 

Music Therapy

Music Therapy

“Ode to Joy,” courtesy of YouTube:

“Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring,” courtesy of YouTube”

… by the way, my platelet count is still very low at just 40, but it is responding to the chemo and coming up.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

pink-ribbon-joy7

No comments yet

Leave a comment