Skip to content

January 10, 2011 ~ They’re Grrrreat!

January 10, 2011

Two days.  That’s what’s got me shouting ‘They’re grrrreat!’  Two days without pain, without shortness of breath, without the need for a handicapped tag on my car, without the need to stop and rest after every dozen-or-so steps. 

Saturday morning we decided to go out for breakfast, as we often do to celebrate the beginning of the weekend.  We’d eaten heartily at Mimi’s Cafe, discussed my reading of the book ’90 Minutes In Heaven’ and the goodness of God in the midst of such devastating circumstances as the writer found himself.  It was a good breakfast, and a good conversation.

After breakfast we stopped off at H-E-B grocery store and John ran in to get some Burt’s Bees lip balm for my chapped lips.  These days I’d gotten used to staying in the car while John ran most of my errands – it had become just too hard.  But he was taking a long time.   Too long.  Because I’d had 3 cups of coffee and a tall glass of water – well, you can imagine what I found myself needing.  Yes, the ladies room.  But I dreaded the thought of it.  I didn’t know this super-store H-E-B and had no idea where to find the ladies room, much less know if they had benches or chairs where I could rest along the way.  But eventually there was no getting around it – I had to go in and find my way to that much-needed room.  As I entered the store, I looked right and then left, and spotted it – clear across the entire store!  And no benches along the way!!  I didn’t know how I’d make it, but figured I’d need to stop and lean against a wall to rest before continuing.  I worried, and thought, and thought and worried.  Then I realized something – I was making my way across that great spance of space and I didn’t need to rest!  I wasn’t out of breath!  I wasn’t in pain!  In fact, I thought I might even be able to sprint to the ladies room (but I figured it’d be misunderstood, if you know what I mean!)

When I returned to the car, John was already there, and I told him what had happened.  We were both overjoyed, and the remainder of the day was filled with doing all the mundane things I’d been missing (mostly shopping!)  We went to Target and WalMart and didn’t use our handicapped car tag, but walked all the way from the hither regions of the parking lot, and were thrilled to do it!  We shopped all over the stores – grocery, pharmacy, pet products, hardware – everywhere!  I never needed a bench, never stopped to lean against a post or catch my breath, didn’t cut the day short so I could rest.  It was fabulous!!!

Then, after a wonderful night’s rest, I woke up to the same great feeling!  We went to church (it’s been a while for me), and I was able to stand – STAND!! – throughout the entire worship portion of the service.  What a blessing!  It’s been so long since I could do that, and it grieved me to be sitting while everyone else was standing.  I felt as if I weren’t offering my very best to our Lord.  Oh, I know He understands my limitations, but still it was MY desire to honor Him in that way.  What joy!  What elation! What a treasure to be with my friends at church, standing and worshipping Him along with them!

The rest of the day was the same.  We ran errands, enjoyed lunch out with our youngest son, Donovan and his sweet girlfriend, Julia, and never once did I slow down!

We take for granted all these abilities that God gives us, but when you’ve missed healthy mobility for a period of time – oh the joy when it returns!!

I am writing this post in the middle of the night – I just had to share the good news!  I feel good and am hopeful that our ‘two days’ extend into three, and then four, and then so many days in a row that I stop counting and just continue LIVING!

I’m aware of all the prayers that surround me by great intercessors who haven’t failed, through these difficult years, to offer me up to our Savior  for healing and a miracle.  Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!  You are the unsung heroes in the Kingdom, but your prayers are effective and will bring forth much joy and life.  I am so grateful to you, and to the Lord for all He has done for me, whether the day was grrrreat or not.

But when the day is grrrreat, it’s the best!!!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

